
588-0225VR (January 1, 2005-fee Increase to $15)   UPDATED MARCH 2013 

To Request a Search for an Iowa Death Record for the Purpose of Obtaining a Certified Copy 
 
In Iowa, official registration of deaths began July 1, 1880.  Original records that were registered are on file with the Iowa 
Department of Public Health, Bureau of Health Statistics.  Statewide record searches are available from the state 
registrar.  Local vital records registrars are located in county recorders’ offices, where records of deaths that have 
occurred in that county are maintained.  County registrars are not authorized by law to have records sealed by a court 
of law; death between the years 1921 to 1941.  Per Iowa law, information about a specific record is not available over the 
telephone or by prepared lists.  Iowa law provides for public viewing in the county where the record is maintained, or 
certified copies issued to entitled persons. 
 
Applications to search for a vital record event for the purpose of obtaining a certified copy must be in writing, 
completely identify the record, and establish entitlement to the record being requested.  Entitled persons include the 
person named on the record or that person’s spouse, children, legal parents, grandparents, grandchildren, or siblings.  
Legal representatives must also provide additional proof of representation.  Applicants must be 18 or older.  Requests 
must include the applicant’s current government-issued photo identification (i.e., driver’s license), except if by mail, a 
clear photocopy of the I.D., and the applicant’s signature signed in front of a notary public or in the presence of an Iowa 
Registrar of Vital Records. 
 
 PAYMENT:  A non-refundable $15 fee is required to search for a record and includes one certified copy if the 
record is located.  Each additional copy of the same record is $15.  Fees are payable in U.S. funds by check or money 
order to the issuing registrar’s office.  Checks must be drawn from the applicants’ account; money orders must be in the 
name of the applicant.  Fees must be paid at the time of the application (Iowa Constitution, Article VII, Section 1). 
 
 

STATE CERTIFIED COPIES.   
Certified copies of death certificates may be obtained from the state Bureau of Health Statistics by telephone, in-

person, or through a postal service.  Fees are payable in U.S. funds by check or money order to the Iowa Department of 
Public Health.  In-person requests may also be paid in cash.  Genealogy requests take at least 60 days. 

Telephone:  Customers can call a toll-free number 866-809-0290 from 6:00 am CST through 7:00 pm CST, 
Monday through Friday, except for holidays.  A fee of $15.00 is required for the record search and includes one 
copy if a record is on file in our office.  Each additional copy of the record is also $15.00. A VitalChek operator 
will take your information, screen your credit card, authenticate your identity and complete your order. The fee 
to screen your credit card and authenticate the caller is an additional $13.00.  If you request a group order which 
consists of more than one Vital Event (i.e. Birth, Death or Marriage) within one order there is an additional 
$3.00 fee. Turnaround time is usually 10 to 14 days, depending on seasonal demands and mail service.  Genealogy 
requests are not available through the credit card line. 

In-person:  Applications may be made in-person at the state Bureau of Health Statistics 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday 
through Friday, except for state-observed holidays, at the address below, just inside the north lobby entrance and to the 
right.  The Lucas building is just east of the state Capitol and south of Grand Avenue.  Applicants must provide current 
government-issued photo identification and sign their request in the presence of registrar staff.  Copies may either be 
picked up after two working days or mailed to an entitled person.  Genealogy requests take at least 60 days. 
 
Postal service:  Written requests and fees are mailed to the address below.  Requests must state the relationship to the 
person named on the record and the purpose for the copy.  Filled requests take 30-45 days, depending on seasonal 
demands and mail service.  Genealogy requests take at least 60 days.  The request must be signed in front of a notary 
public and include a clear photocopy of the applicant’s current government-issued photo identification.  

Iowa Department of Public Health 
Bureau of Health Statistics 

Lucas State Office Building, 1st Floor 
321 E. 12th Street 

Des Moines, Iowa   50319-0075 
 
 

SEE OTHER SIDE FOR AN APPLICATION FORM. 
FORM MAY BE USED FOR EITHER A COUNTY-CERTIFIED OR A STATE-CERTIFIED COPY OF AN IOWA VITAL RECORD 



DEATH 
APPLICATION FOR A SEARCH FOR AN IOWA RECORD 

 
Check One  DEATH  FETAL DEATH  BIRTH RESULTING IN STILLBIRTH (Fetal Death must be on file) 
 
Requests require the applicant’s current government - issued photo identification (e.g., driver’s license) 
and signature signed in front of a notary public or in the presence of an Iowa Registrar of Vital Records. 
 
 
 

 
1. PERSON’S NAME AS IT APPEARS ON THE RECORD    

  FIRST MIDDLE, if any SURNAME (Last) 

2. DATE OF DEATH – BE SPECIFIC – Month/Day/Year  
 
3. PLACE OF DEATH (City and/or County)  
 
4. MOTHER’S FULL MAIDEN NAME – FIRST/MIDDLE, if any/LAST  
 
5. FATHER’S FULL NAME – FIRST/MIDDLE, if any/SURNAME (Last)  
 
 
6. PURPOSE FOR COPY  5.  BIRTHDATE of APPLICANT/RECIPIENT  
 
7. HOW ARE YOU RELATED TO THE PERSON NAMED ON THE RECORD?  
 

8. NAME AND ADDRESS OF PERSON TO RECEIVE THIS COPY:   (MUST BE AGE 18 OR OLDER & ENTITLED TO THE RECORD) 
 
 7a.  Name of Applicant/Recipient  
 
 7b.  Street address and P.O. Box (if any)  
 
 7c.  City, State and Zip Code  
 
9. THE SEARCH RESULT IS TO BE (Check one)  Mailed  Picked up (for in-person requests only) 
 
10. THE NON-REFUNDABLE FEE TO SEARCH IS $15.00 and one certified copy is issued if the record is located. 
 Each additional copy of the same record is $15.00.  Indicate the number of copies of this record you need.  
 
11. THIS SEARCH PAID BY (Check one)  Check  Money Order  Cash (In-person only) 12.  AMOUNT ENCLOSED  
Checks must be written from the applicant’s account; money orders must be in the name of the applicant.  Fee payment must be in U.S. funds and be 
included with this application.  Make checks and money orders payable to the ‘Iowa Dept. of Public Health’ (state copy) or the appropriate county 
registrar of vital records in the county of the event. 
 
13. APPLICANT’S NAME (Print clearly)  14.  DAYTIME PHONE #  
    (Include area code) 

 
I certify that the information that I provided on this application is accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge and that I have legal entitlement to 

a certified copy of this record.  I have signed below in front of a Notary Public or an Iowa registrar of vital records. 
 

15. APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE  16.  DATE  
 

 
APPLICANT’S NAME AS APPEARS ON PHOTO I.D. (Print clearly) _____________________________________________________________ 
 
State of __________________   County of _____________________ ss                                                                    (SEAL)  
 
Signed and affirmed in my presence on this _____ day of _____________, ________. 
 
__________________________________, My commission expires: _____________ 
                   (Notary Public Signature) 
 

 
Administrative 

Use Only 
 
I.D. __________ 
 
Initials ________ 

 
BEFORE MAILING: 

• INCLUDE A CLEAR PHOTOCOPY OF YOUR IDENTIFICATION (e.g., driver’s license) 
• SIGN THIS APPLICATION IN FRONT OF A NOTARY PUBLIC 

• INCLUDE FEE PAYMENT AS DESCRIBED IN ITEM 10, 11 AND 12 ABOVE 
 

SEE OTHER SIDE FOR ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS 
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