
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION NEEDED FOR PROCESSING A MARRIAGE 
LICENSE APPLlCATION THROUGH THE MAIL 

Daytime telephone number: Party A OR PartyB 

Anticipated Date of Marriage: ____________ _ 

Anticipated Officiant: _____________________ _ 

Please mail the following forms to: 

--This completed form 

Woodbury County Recorder 
ATTN: Vital Records 
620 Douglas Street; Room 106 
Sioux City, Iowa 51101 

--Completed & notarized Application to Marry in Iowa 
--Completed & notarized Affidavit of Competent and Disinterested Person 
--Completed Legal Name Change Notification form 
--Copies of BOTH Party A and Party B's current, government-issued picture ID 
--A money order for $35 made payable to the Woodbury County Recorder 

Any questions, please call 712-279-6626 before mailing the forms. 



STATE OF IOWA 

MARRIAGE INSTRUCTIONS 

VITAL RECORDS 
ROOM106 

8:00 A.M. - 4:00 P .M. 
(712) 279-6626 

IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF APPLICANTS TO READ THIS CAREFULLY BEFORE MAKING APPLICATION! 

General Information: 

Prior to a marriage ceremony in Iowa, a License to Marry 
shall be obtained from a local County Registrar, who also 
perform County Recorder functions and have offices either in 
a county courthouse or county administration building. 

• The License to Marry in Iowa is valid ONLY for marriage 
ceremonies solemnized within the boundaries of the State of 
Iowa by authorized Officiants as defined in Iowa Code section 
595.10 (i.e., Iowajudges, magistrates, ordained ministers). 

• All parties in the marriage ceremony shall be present at 
the same time and location. At a minimum, the parties to be 
married, the Officiant (the authorized person who performs the 
wedding ceremony), and two witnesses must be physically 
present. Marriage ceremonies. are not valid by proxy, 
telephone, or other electronic means. 

Iowa law provid.es that marriage is a civil contract 
between two persons who are (1) 18 years of age or older; (2) 
notalready married to each other or still legally married to 
someone else; (3) not closely related by blood or first cousins; 
and ( 4) legally competent to enter into a civil contract. 

• Minors. Persons aged 16 and 17 may marry only with 
special permission from a judge and should request a "Consent 
to Marriage of a Minor" form when mal<lng application for a 
marriage license and present it to a judge within the county's 
judicial district. Return the signed form to the County 
Registrar to complete the marriage application process. 
Persons aged 15 and under may not marry in Iowa. 

Persons who wish to marry in Iowa, and who meet the 
above criteria, may complete an Application for License to 
Marry in Iowa form. All items on the application, other than 
those marked optional, shall be satisfactorily completed in 
order to process the request for a License to Marry in Iowa, 
including the Affidavit of Competent and Disinterested Person 
on the reverse side of the application fom1. 

• Applicants are NOT required to be U.S. citizens; 
however, all parties must provide satisfactory proof of 
identification to the notary public upon signing the application 
to marry, preferably a valid U.S. government-issued ID. 

• Applications may only be obtained from a County 
Registrar's office, either in person or by mail. Applications 
may be returned by either of the applicants to the county in 
which the application and marriage certificate are to be filed. 
The county of license does NOT havi:: to be the same as the 
county where the marriage ceremony talces place. 
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Making Application: 

1. Each party should complete their own designated 
section on the Application for License to Marry in Iowa form. 
Type or print legibly. Do NOT use all capital letters. 

2. Legal Names. List your current full legal name as your 
name before marriage. Include your name as it appears on 
your birth certificate (i.e., your name prior to any marriage). 
Also list your legal names as they are to be after the marriage 
ceremony. Your legal names after marriage are determined 
when you complete the Application for License to Marry in 
Iowa, which is notarized and legally binding by law. 

·• Pursuant to Iowa Code section 595.5, a new legal name 
may be adopted through marriage. Except for typographical 
errors on the part of the County Registrar, a subsequent change 
of name will require a Legal Change of Name court order, 
which will:not be reflected on the marriage certificate. 

• A name change acquired through marriage does not 
change an individual's birth certificate. The nan1e on the birth 
certificate is the name prior to any marriage and is asked for 
when establishing a child's bi1th record. If a person is legally 
adopted, the legal name after the adoption now appears on the 
person's birth certificate. 

3. Notarized Signatures. Each party to the marriage 
application must sign in front of an authorized Notary Public 
who is not a family member and follows all other criteria 
required of notary publics. County Registrars, by law, are 
authorized to provide notary public service for vital records 
purposes. Another notary public service may be used and the 
completed and notarized Application for License to Marry in 
Iowa form returned to the County Registrar in the county 
issuing the License to Marry in Iowa. 

• By signing in front of a Notary Public, the signatory is 
acknowledging that the information provided on the 
Application for License to Marry in Iowa form is correct to the 
best of their knowledge and belief and that they are legally 
able to marry. The notary public is required by law to ask for 
satisfactory proof of identification that contains a previously 
signed signature. Parties to the marriage application are 
responsible for reporting accurate and true information, not the 
notary public or the County Registrar. 

4. Affidavit of Competent and Disinterested Person. 
An individual of legal age who is acquainted with both parties 
who plan to marry is required to complete the affidavit on the 
back of the Application for License to Marry in Iowa form and 
sign in front of a notary public. This person must be unbiased 
regarding the result of the pending marriage and competent to 
enter a civil contract. A family member may serve as the 
disinterested person ifhe or she meets these criteria. 
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5. Fee. A $35 fee is due upon application for the license to 
marry and includes a certified copy of the Certificate of 
Marriage. The fee is NOT refundable if the marriage 
solemnization does not take place as planned. 

• Pursuant Iowa Code section 595.13, the Officiant shall 
return the completed and signed certificate fonn within 15 
days after the ceremony. If a certified copy is needed right 
away, ask your Officiant to submit the record for registration 
promptly. By law, the County Registrar is not authorized 
to verify over the phone whether or not the record has 
been received for registration. 

• When the Officiant files the Certificate of Marriage in the 
county of license, the County Registrar will review and register 
the record. The parties will then be issued a certified copy of 
their Certificate ofMarriage in care of the couple's most 
current address as known by the Registrar's office. 

• It is the sole responsibility of the parties to provide the 
County Registrar with any updated mailing information in 
writing, or to pick up the certified copy in person from the 
County Registrar's office. 

6. Optional Sections. 
Each party to the marriage may choose a title - bride, groom, 
or spouse - to be included on the Certificate of Marriage by 
checking their preferred designation on the Application for 
License to Marry in Iowa form. Applicants may also choose 
whether or not they want their gender shown on their 
Certificate of Marriage. Gender is collected for statistical 
purposes so that accurate data regarding marriages perfonned 
in Iowa can be maintained. Resident information is self­
reported and is a reflection of the residence at the time of 
application. Parent names listed on the Application for 
License to Marry in Iowa is self-reported. It is recommended 
that names of parents are listed as they appear on the 
applicant's birth record. 

License to Marry: 

Upon receipt and acceptance of a completed application, the 
County Registrar may issue the License to Marry. The license 
shall become valid after the expiration of three calendar days 
after the date of acceptance. If the license is not retrieved 
from the County Registrar within six months from the date of 
application, the application is considered null and void. 

When the marriage license valid date is computed, the day of 
application is excluded (i.e., is not counted). 

Date of Application: 

Monday 
Tuesday 

Wednesday 
Thursday 

Friday 

Valid Date of License: 

Friday 
Saturday 
Sunday 
Monday 
Tuesday 

The 3-day waiting period may be waived by a district judge in 
the county's judicial district pursuant to Iowa Code section 
595.4. An Application for Waiver of3-Day Waiting Period 
form is available from the County Registrar. If the waiver is 
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granted, the County Registrar shall collect a $5 fee in addition 
to the $35 fee to apply for a license. 

The Ceremony: 

1. License to Marry in Iowa. The License to Marry may 
only be used in Iowa and only after its stated "valid date." The 
County Registrar will provide the parties two copies of the 
License, one for their personal records and one to present to 
the Officiant as proof of proper application to marry. The 
License does NOT prove that the marriage event has occurred; 
only that application to marry has been made. 

2. Certificate Form. The County Registrar will also 
prepare the original state copy of the Certificate of Marriage 
form. Immediately after the marriage ceremony, the Officiant 
shall complete the blank items pertaining to the marriage 
ceremony and obtain the required signatures. Signatures 
must be legible and in black ink to ensure an accurate 
recording of the marriage. The parties married shall sign. at 
a minimum, their first and last legal name as indicated on the 
Application for License to Marry in Iowa. Two persons 
present at the ceremony, as well as the Officiant, shall also 
sign the form and print their names. The signing witnesses 
must be of an age and competency to enter a civil contract 
themse!ves. Photocopies of the Certificate of Marriage prior 
to registration are prohibited. The Officiant may NOT affix 
any kind of seal to the Certificate of Marriage. 

The original Certificate ofMarriage sqall not later be 
modified to reflect a court-ordered Legal Change of Name. 

3. Registration. Within 15 days after the marriage 
ceremony, the Officiant shall file for registration the state copy 
of the Certificate of Marriage with the County Registrar that 
issued the License to Marry. 

4. Certified Copy. Upon registration of the Certificate of 
Marriage, the County Registrar shall issue the married parties 
a certified copy of the certificate pursuant to Iowa Code 
section 595.16A. The married parties are responsible for 
either picking up the certified copy in person or providing the 
County Registrar with a written statement to mail the copy to a 
good deliverable mailing address. 

Additional certified copies of the Certificate of Marriage 
record may be purchased by entitled persons from either the 
County Registrar in the county of license or from the state vital 
records office. Written application and photo identification 
are required, as well a notarized signature ifby mail. 

The Certificate of Marriage and the Application for 
License to Marry in Iowa are public records available for 
inspection at the county level per Iowa Code section 144.43, 
except for the parties' social security numbers. 

Name Change Notification: 

If a change of name was adopted through the marriage, the 
married parties must change their names directly with 
businesses and government agencies (e.g., SSA, DOT). Most 
organizations will ask to see the certified copy of the 
Certificate ofMarriage. There should be no cost involved. 

Once these transactions are accomplished, keep the 
certified copy in a safe, protected location to avoid identity 
theft or damage to the safety paper (which voids the copy). 
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County _____________ _ 

STATE OF IOWA License No. ___________ _ 

IOWA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
Bureau of Health Statistics and Vital Records 

Date of Application 

Valid Date of License 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE TO MARRY IN IOWA 
Type or print legibly in black or dark blue ink. Do not use all capital letters. 

PARTY A (Information to be completed by the first applicant) Check One (Optional) D Bride D Groom D Spouse 

FULL LEGAL NAME BEFORE MARRIAGE Include an enerational suffix after last name 
First Middle (If any) Current Last (Surname) Last Name Prior to ANY Marriage 

FULL LEGAL NAME CHANGE ADOPTED THROUGH MARRIAGE (Include anv aenerational suffix after last name) 
First Nama After Marriage Middle Name (If any) After Marriage Last Name (Surname) After Marriage 

CURRENT PLACE 

I 
State 

I 
City (Optional) 

I 
County (Optional) 

OF RESIDENCE 

STA TE OF BIRTH (If not United States, name of foreign country) I DATE OF BIRTH (Month, Day, Yeaf) I GENDER (Optional) 

PARTY A'S PARENT Optional Check one • Mother • Father • Parent PARTY A'S PARENT Optional Check One • Mother • Father • Parent 
Parent's Nam:e Prior to any Marriage Parent's Name Prior to any Marriage 

PARTY B (Information to be completed by the second applicant) -Check One (Option~/) D Bride D Groom D Spouse 

FULL LEGAL NAME BEFORE MARRIAGE Include an enerationalsuffixafterlastname 
First Middle (If any) Current Last (Surname) Last Name Prior to ANY Marriage 

FULL LEGAL NAME CHANGE ADOPTED THROUGH MARRIAGE (Include anv aenerational suffix after last nameJ 
First Name After Marriage Middle Name (If any) After Marriage Last Name (Surname) After Marriage 

CURRENT PLACE 

I 
State 

I 
City (Optional) 

I 
County (Optional) 

OF RESIDENCE 

STATE OF BIRTH (If not United States, name of foreign country) I DATE OF BIRTH (Month, Day, Year,) . I GENDER (Optional) 

PARTY B'S PARENT Optional Check one• Mother • Father • Parent PARTY B'S PARENT Optional Check One • Mother • Father • Parent 
Parent's Name Prior to any Marriage Parent's Name Prior to any Marriage 

SIGNATURE NOT ARY AFFIRMATION (Each party must sign and date this form in the presence of an authorized Notary Public. Each party 
must show valid U.S. government-issued identification when signing. The Notary Public completes and signs below. 

PARTY A: I affirm that the Information I provided above Is true 
and accurate and that I Intend for my legal name after marriage to 
be as stated above. 

PARTY B: I affirm that the Information I provided above Is true and 
accurate and that I Intend for my legal name after marriage to be as 
stated above. 

:i------------------------m PARTY A SIGNATURE Date Signed PARTY B SIGNATURE 

State of 

Date Signed 
:::, 
a.. 

~ 
~ 

State of ______ _ County of ________ ss 

Signed and affirmed by ----,--,-,,---_,,.,.-----,---­
Write name exactly as appears on 1.0. 

o ____________________ _ 
z Notary Public's Signature for Party A 

NOTARY 
SEAL 

Notary Address & Expiration 

Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Health Statistics 

Date Signed 

------ County of ________ ss 

Signed and affirmed by ~-----------------­
Write name exactly as appears on 1.0. 

Notary Public's Signature for Party B Date Signed 

NOTARY 
SEAL 

Page 1 of 2 

Notary Address & Expiration 

FORM #588-0224VR (Updated May 15, 2018) 



AFFIDAVIT OF COMPETENT AND DISINTERESTED PERSON 
as to age and qualification of the contracting parties 

Type or print legibly in black or dark blue ink. Do not use all capital letters. 

I, the below noted disinterested person, affirm that I am acquainted with 

who is 

who is 

___ years of age; and that I am acquainted with 

____ years of age. 

I affirm that I am a lawfully competent and disinterested person and impartial to the result of this pending transaction. I further 
affirm that both parties are unmarried and able to enter into a civil contract, that there is no legal disability to the marriage of said 
parties, and that their marriage is to be solemnized in a ceremony performed by an authorized officiant within the State of Iowa. 

NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE TO AFFIDAVIT OF DISINTERESTED PERSON 
Notary Public cannot serve as disinterested person. 

I affirm that the information I provided above ls true and accurate to the best of my knowledge. 

Disinterested Person Signature Date Signed 

State of _______ _ County of __________ ss 

Signed and affirmed in my presence by -------,-,-.,.,,...----,------,-----­
Write name exactly as appears on I.D. 

Notary Public's Signature Date Signed 

Notary Address & Expiration 

NOTICE TO APPLICANTS: PLEASE READ CAREFULLY! 

NOTARY 
PUBLIC'S 

SEAL 

• Applicants aged 16 or 17 years old must also present a completed Consent to Marriage form for approval to a judge of the 
district court in the county from which the marriage license is to be obtained. Age 15 and under may NOT marry in Iowa. 

• Pursuant to Iowa Code section 595.3A, the laws of this state affirm a party's right to enter into this marriage and at the same time 
to live within the marriage under the full protection of the laws of this state with regard to violence and abuse. Neither party to the 
marriage is the property of the other. Assault, sexual abuse, and willful injury of a spouse or other family member are violations of 
the laws of this state and are punishable by the state. 

• Applicants' social security numbers are collected pursuant to Iowa Code section 595.4 and 42 USC 405(c)(2), as amended by 
Section 1090(b) of Public Law 105-34. The law authorizes the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to use social security numbers for 
determining Earned Income Tax Credit compliance on income tax returns and to authorize the State Registrar to report the social 
security number to the Child Support Recovery Unit. 

• The $35.00 fee must accompany this application. 

• Return this form and fee to the County Registrar of Vital Records in the county where you want your record to be filed. 

• Review the Marriage Instructions handout tor more details about obtaining the certified copy of your Certificate of Marriage. 

*** CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION REQUIRED BY IOWA CODE SECTION 595.4 *** 
*** ADMINISTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY*** NOT FOR PUBLIC VIEWING, DISTRIBUTION OR PUBLICATION*** 

Party A Social Security Number __________ _ Party B Social Security Number __________ _ 

Anticipated Ceremony Date Anticipated Officiant ________________ _ 
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LEGAL NAME CHANGE NOTIFICATION MEMO 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
PLEASE READ THIS CAREFULLY! 

As of July 1, 1999 in the State of Iowa, both Party A and Party B 
have the opportunity to change any part of their name-first, 
middle or last-to anything they wish AFTER the marriage 
ceremony has occurred. 

Please keep in mind that if either Party A or Party B changes any 
part of their name, it is a LEGAL NAME CHANGE. Once the 
marriage has occurred, it would require a court action to make 
any changes to the new legal name. 

The new name does not have to contain any part of the person's 
previous name, but it may. 

By completing the Marriage Application form: 

(1) you will have indicated your full current legal name 
(2) you will have indicated your new legal name after marriage 
(3) you understand that the marriage ceremony must take 

place in the STATE OF IOWA 

Please sign this form to indicate that you understand this 
information. 

Party A Party B 



IMPORTANT NOTICE 

The Sioux City Journal has made a request of the 
Woodbury County Recorder's Office to review all 
marriage licenses issued in this county. This request is 
made under the open records section of 
Chapter 22 of the Code of Iowa. 

Therefore, a copy of the front page of your marriage 
license will be made available to the Sioux City Journal 
once you pick up your marriage paperwork. 

Feel free to contact the Sioux City Journal if you have 
concerns. Thank you. 


