
 

 

 

 

 

 
NOTICE TO TAX SALE PURCHASERS OF THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS 

GOVERNING THE TAX SALE OF 

 

WOODBURY COUNTY, IOWA 

TINA M BERTRAND, TREASURER 

822 Douglas St, Rm 102 

Sioux City, Iowa 51101 

 

Janet Trimpe, Property Tax Deputy 

jtrimpe@woodburycountyiowa.gov 

712-279-6495 Option #2 

 

June 16, 2025 

 

Woodbury County Tax Sale will be held on line at www.iowataxauction.com 

 

Assistance with registration and the auction site is available at (877) 243-9997 or  

support@iowataxauction.com 

 

                                                                      

                                          There is a $46.00 non-refundable registration fee.  Registration will begin 

Monday, May 19th, 2025 at 12:01 a.m., and end Thursday, June 12th, 2025 at 11:59 p.m.  

 

A W-9 form must be completed electronically by the registration deadline.  This information is required to 

issue an accurate 1099-INT form to each certificate holder earning cumulative interest equal to or more 

than $600.00 during the calendar year.  This information will also be submitted to the Internal Revenue 

Service and may be needed when filing your Federal and State Income Tax returns. 

All steps in the registration process must be completed by 11:59 p.m. on June 12th, 2025. 

 

All Bidders must be 18 years of age or older as of June 16, 2025. 

 

Chapter 446.16.4 

Only those persons as defined in section 4.1 are authorized to register to bid or to bid at the tax sale or to 

own a tax sale certificate by purchase, assignment, or otherwise.  To be authorized to register to bid or to 

bid at a tax sale or to own a tax sale certificate, a person, other than an individual, must have a federal 

tax identification number and either a designation of agent for service of process on file with the 

secretary of state or a verified statement meeting the requirements of chapter 547 on file with the county 

recorder of the county in which the person wishes to register to bid or to bid at tax sale or of the county 

where the property that is the subject of the tax sale certificate is located. 

 

1.                           The notice of tax sale will appear in an official Woodbury County newspaper, on or 

about the 1st day of June, 2025, as required by Iowa Code 446.9.   

 

The list will be available for review on the auction site www.iowataxauction.com  after June 1, 2025. 

  

It is your responsibility to research the properties for value, pending special assessments (from the City of 

Sioux City) and if any of the properties are listed on the City’s Red Tag List, which you can request from 

the Inspection Services Division at 712-224-5216.   

 

ALL SALES ARE FINAL. 

 

 

 2. All properties shown in the publication are offered for sale except those that 1) have 

been paid after publication, 2) are withheld due to bankruptcy laws that prohibit their sale.  

 

 3. You or the party for which you represent may not be entitled to bid at tax sale and 

become a tax sale purchaser due to having a vested interest in the property.   

 

  4. Those properties listed in the publication with two year delinquencies must be sold for 

the full amount of taxes, interest and costs.  If no bid is received for these properties, Woodbury County 

will bid for said parcels per Sec. 446.19. 
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PLEASE NOTE: Per the Code of Iowa Section 445.1, the definition of “Taxes” means an annual ad valorem 

tax, a special assessment, a drainage tax, a rate or charge, and taxes on homes pursuant to chapter 

435 which are collectible by the county treasurer. 

 

 

5.                          Bids will be submitted online beginning at 9:00 am and closing at 10:30 am on Monday 

June 16th, 2025.  You can access the auction site at www.iowataxauction.com  .   The delinquent taxes 

on each parcel will be offered for sale to all bidders beginning with a 100% undivided interest.  “Bid 

downs” will range in whole percentage points from 99% to 1%. 

 

The public bidder list, parcels with 2 or more year’s delinquent taxes, will be offered and if not sold, the 

certificates will be awarded to Woodbury County. 

 

When the sale closes, a tax sale certificate for each parcel will be awarded to the bidder with the 

smallest bid down percentage for the total amount due.  If two or more bidders have placed an equal 

bid and the bids are the smallest percentage offered, the website will use a random selection process to 

determine the successful bidder. 

  

 All bids must be in good faith and whether intentional or not, are the responsibility of the bidder and 

may not be withdrawn. 

                  

6.                   Please note:  Successful bidders will receive an invoice when the sale has closed.  An ACH 

debit for the total amount due will automatically initiate from the account designated for the payment of 

registration fees.  The total amount due will include all delinquent taxes, special assessments, interest, 

special assessment collection fees, publishing costs, and a certificate fee in the amount of $20.00 for 

each certificate purchased. 

 

If a tax sale bidder’s payment is not honored, the bidder will have three business days following 

notification from the Treasurer to repay with guaranteed funds or the tax sale certificate(s) purchased 

will be cancelled.   A $30.00 service fee will be assessed on returned payments.     

 

Please allow up to two weeks to receive copies of your certificates.  This gives our staff time to do the 

paper work and balance the proceeds received from the tax sale.   We will file the originals in our office 

to allow a timelier payout of redemptions. 

 

7.                    A tax sale certificate does not entitle the holder to any rights, title or interest in the property.  

The TAX SALE DEED conveys right, title and interest and that document will be issued following the 

redemption period after the due process of law has been complied with in full. 

 

8.                   A tax sale purchaser may pay subsequent taxes, which include special assessments on the 

same parcel on which s/he holds the tax sale certificate no sooner than one month and 14 days 

following the date from which an installment becomes delinquent.   

 

 The subsequent taxes must be paid on line at www.iowatreasurers.org   We will not accept subsequent 

tax payments by mail.   This does not apply to adjourned tax sales purchased over the counter. 

 

We can no longer honor postmarks for payment of subsequent taxes, per Iowa Code.  
 
** Chapter 446.32 of the Code of Iowa requires subsequent payments to be received by the 
county treasurer before 5:00 pm (or a time established by the county treasurer) on the last 
business day of the month for interest for that month to accrue.  Since subsequent payments 
are not considered to be received by the county treasurer until they are imported into the 
county system, subsequent payments made on the last business day of the month will be 
refunded.  Service delivery fees, however, will not be refunded. 

 
 ** If taxes are paid in the treasurer’s office on the same day that your online subsequent    
payment is made, your payment may be refunded.  Service delivery fees, however, will not be 
refunded. 

 

If you wish to have a paper printout of subsequent taxes, you will be charged $2.00 per parcel. 
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You may assign certificates, per Sec 446.31.  $100.00 assignment fee must be paid to the Woodbury 

County Treasurer, for each parcel assigned.  The assignment with registration form and W-9 must be filed 

with the Treasurer to enter the new certificate holder into our system.    

 

9. A redeemed tax sale will include the following. 

 a.  The original tax sale amount, including 

 the $20.00 certificate fee paid by the purchaser 

 at the time of the sale. 

 b. Interest calculated on the sale amount at 2% per 

month.  

 c.  Subsequent tax payment, paid by the purchaser and  

 added to the amount of the sale, with appropriate 

interest calculated from the date of payment to the date   

of redemption. 

d.  The cost of serving notice, as provided for in Sec 447.13.  

           

 10.                  If it is determined that an item not subject to taxation or that the amount for which it was 

sold had been paid or was erroneously sold, the certificate of purchase will be cancelled.  The 

certificate holder shall be reimbursed the principal amount of the investment.  Interest will not be paid.   

 

If not sold erroneously there will be no refunds for any other reason.   ALL SALES ARE FINAL. 

  

11.                  If, for any reason, a certificate holder is paid for a redemption that in fact was not 

redeemed or issued in error, the certificate holder shall reimburse the Woodbury County Treasurer, the 

full amount that was issued for said redemption. 

 

12.                    Alien rights.   Chapter 567.2 Code of Iowa.   

A nonresident alien, foreign business or foreign government may acquire, by grant, purchase, devise or 

descent, real property, except agricultural land or any interest in agricultural land in this state, and may 

own, hold, devise or alienate the real property, and shall incur the same duties and liabilities in relation 

thereto as a citizen and resident of the United States. 

“Agricultural land” means land suitable for use in farming.  (Sec 567.1 Definitions) 

 

13. SECTION 446.37 CANCELLATION OF SALE 

After three years have elapsed from the time of any tax sale, and the holder of a certificate has not filed 

an affidavit of service of notice of expiration of right of redemption under section 447.12, the county 

treasurer shall cancel the sale from the county system.  

 

 14.                       The adjourned tax sale will convene the 3rd Monday of every other month, beginning 

August 18, 2025, at the Woodbury County Treasurer’s Office.   This will be for any of the one year 

delinquencies that did not sell at the annual sale. 

 

        This document has been prepared to provide general information and guidelines relative to tax sales, 

assignments and tax sale redemptions.  It is not an all-inclusive listing of statutory requirements, 

procedures or policy, nor is it to be construed as a legal opinion of the statutes governing tax sales.   

        

        Iowa Code Chapters 446, 447 and 448 as amended are pertinent chapters to Tax Sales, Tax Redemption 

and Tax Deeds.  The Iowa Code is available on-line at www.legis.iowa.gov.   You should consult with legal 

counsel to determine your legal rights and remedies and to protect your interest as a tax sale purchaser.   

 

             


